The Team

Sharon Townsend
Executive Director
Tanya Sorkin
Chief Program Officer
Kirstin Clink
Director of Development
Mara Madsen.png
Yekaterina Vaganyan
Event Manager
Mara Palmer Madsen
Marketing and Communications Manager
Kami Collins
Lainie L'Orange
Program Coordinator
Burn Prevention Program Coordinator

The Board 

Children’s Burn Foundation is governed by a dedicated Board of Trustees comprised of business and community leaders, philanthropists, and child advocates.

Kathy Toppino_Photo.tif

Kathleen Toppino, Chair
Community Leader

Lynda Fadel, Vice Chair
Attorney, Community Leader

Barbara Pratt, Secretary
Community Leader

Douglas Mancino, Chair Emeritus
Attorney, Seyfarth Shaw

Board of Trustees

Dennis Alfieri
Real Estate Developer and Management

Adriana Balaban
Community Leader

Chief William R. Bamattre
Fire Chief LA City, Retired

Deb Barbanel
Managing Director
Russell Reynolds, Global Real Estate

Canard Barnes
Managing Principal
Barnes and Company Investment Council

William Barrett, Jr.
Retired CEO

Chief Gregory Barton
Fire Chief, Beverly Hills Fire Dept.

Fritz Coleman
Channel 4 Weatherman, retired

Karen Dodge
Butler and Dodge, LLP

Sam Elliott

Kate Freeman
Managing Director
Fiduciary Trust International

Richard Frey
Attorney, Epstein Green Becker

Dana Kraft Kitaj
Council President, Community Leader
Kara Lew Larew
CEO, Sentient Advisors, Inc.

Carol Mancino
Community Leader

Pedro Martí
Managing Director, Private Wealth Advisor
The Martí Group, Rockefeller Capital Management

Ann Marie Mortimer
Managing Partner
Hunton & Williams

John Nickoll
Retired CEO

Michael Palmer
Managing Director & Co Founder
California Real Estate Regional Center “CaRE”

Charles A. Pratt, Jr.
Writer, Television Producer

Eric Reimer
Attorney, Partner, Milbank

Matt Ruderman
Senior Vice President, Morgan Stanley

The Council

The mission of Children’s Burn Foundation is furthered by the efforts of The Council, a dynamic volunteer group of 63 dedicated members who work to support the Foundation’s fundraising and community outreach initiatives. Founded in 1996, The Council hosts the annual Giving New Hope Benefit, where they bestow the Giving New Hope Award to a community leader who has demonstrated significant commitment to improving the lives of children. Through the Giving New Hope Benefit, The Council has raised more than $24 million since 1996.


One of The Council’s annual activities is the Children's Holiday Party, where Council Members invite our CBF families to come together for a day of festivities. This day is filled with music, treats, games, gifts, and of course, community.


Dana Kraft Kitaj
2020-21 President

Adriana Balaban

Fay Bass

Marjorie Bender

Suzanne Bonafede

Alexandra Brand

Shawna Clark

Lily Fukuda Crummy

Ellen Danna

Barbara Deming

Ester Demorest

Lexi Fadel

Lynda Fadel

Pamela Fluor

Barbara Fodor

Kate Freeman

Ruth Gilliam

Lindsey Gordon

Mary Hambric

Betty Hollingsworth

Lonnie Israel

Maralee Kanin

Sally Kanin

Lauren Katz

Mary Nguyen Kayne

Kate Kennedy

Jackie Park Kim

Dana Kraft Kitaj

Sandra Krause

Beth Lane

Lisa LaPorta

Tracey Letteau

Tamara Lowensohn

Susan Lynch

Carol Mancino

Joan Mangum

Adria Martí

Patty Nickoll

Christine Ofiesh

Nina O’Hern

Mara Palmer Madsen

Sandra Post

Barbara Pratt

Annette Rasmussen

Deena Regan

Sandra Rosenbaum

Ellie Salamat

Jennifer Shpilsky

Minoo Simantob

Kandus Simpson

Laurie Sischo

Yvonne Skillings

Tracy Berliner Smith

Jill Stein

Robin Swartz

Sherri Sylvester

Susan Tivoli

Kathleen Toppino

Sherry Tunnell

Elinor Turner

Lynelle Wagner

Carol Mancino
Founding President

Council Downloadable Membership Forms